MIAMI — Southwest Airlines is set to connect seven new cities to its expanded Washington Reagan (DCA) station over the late summer and into the fall of 2014. The carrier made the announcement on Monday.

“By year’s end, we’ll offer 44 daily departures to 14 destinations from Reagan National Airport” said Ron Ricks, Southwest Airlines Executive Vice President and Chief Legal & Regulatory Officer.

Most notably the carrier will begin to serve its Dallas Love Field headquarters from DCA on November 2nd, only weeks after Wright Amendment distance restrictions at the Texas airport end in October.

Besides adding Dallas Love, it will also launch service to Chicago Midway, Nashville, and New Orleans on August 10th.  Several weeks later, on September 30, it will begin service to Tampa. Finally, on November 2nd, service will begin to Akron-Canton and Indianapolis.

The carrier is undergoing the substantial expansion after winning 27 slot pairs at the airport from a Department of Justice (DOJ) merger settlement with American Airlines/US Airways. The settlement forced the new American Airlines to give up a substantial number of slots at the airfield.

Southwest currently serves five cities from the heavily controlled downtown Washington DC airport. The list includes Atlanta, Austin, Ft. Meyers, Houston, Milwaukee, and St. Louis.